Regina set to host 2011 Ford World Men's Championship
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – 26 November 2009

REGINA, CANADA - The World Curling Federation (WCF) and the Canadian
Curling Association (CCA) have announced that Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
will stage the 2011 Ford World Men’s Curling Championship.

It is the third time that the World Men’s Curling Championship returns to
Regina. In 1973 Sweden won the event there (Skip: Kjell Oscarius) and in
1983 it was won by Canada (Skip: Ed Werenich).

The 2011 event will be held from April 2-10 at the newly-named Evraz Place
(formerly the Agridome) which has hosted major curling championships in
the last 12 years such as the 2001 Canadian Curling Olympic Trials, the
inaugural Continental Cup in 2002, the 2006 Tim Hortons Brier (Canadian
men’s championships) and the 1998 and 2008 Scotties Tournament of Hearts
(Canadian women’s championships).

“The World Curling Federation is extremely pleased to have the 2011 Ford
World Men's Curling Championship return to Regina where it has had great
previous success,” said Les Harrison, WCF President. “Saskatchewan curlers
and fans have been exceptional in their support for high level
competitions in the past and as this will be the first qualification
process for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games, we expect this event to be an
unqualified success. We look forward to working with our partners, the CCA
and the local organizing committee, led by Chairman Derek Boe.”

“Regina continues to be such a wonderful host to our events. Over the last
few months, the Canadian Curling Association and the City of Regina have
worked hard to see the 2011 Ford Men's World Championship come to fruition
in this great curling city,” said Greg Stremlaw, Chief Executive Officer
of the CCA. “On a personal note, I would also like to commend Ford of
Canada for their wonderful partnership with the CCA and the WCF and their
involvement once again with the World Championship,” added Stremlaw. “Ford
has been nothing but first class to deal with and it is nice to have
partners who are so committed to what we do and clearly see value in what
we are able to provide to them.”

“Regina is excited to be hosting the 2011 Ford World Men's Curling
Championship,” said Host Committee chairman Derek Boe, who is also the
current President of Curl Regina.

The announcement coincides with a re-branding of the World Curling
Federation and a re-launch of its website. Please visit:



About Ford of Canada and World Curling Championships:
Ford of Canada has sponsored the world men’s and women’s championships
since 1995, when the first Ford Worlds was held in Brandon, Manitoba.
When the men’s and women’s championships were separated in 2005, Ford
continued to be the title sponsor for the event staged in Canada.
Next event:
The Ford World Women’s Curling Championship 2011, Swift Current,
Saskatchewan (20-28 March)

About the World Men’s Curling Championship:
- Scotland is reigning World Men’s Curling Champion
- Attendance record set of 184,970 at the Ford World Men’s Curling
Championship 2007 in Edmonton
- The 2011 event will also be the first World Men’s Curling Championship
(followed by the 2012 and 2013 events) for countries to earn Olympic
qualifying points.  The top ten countries will then qualify for the
Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia in 2014.

About the World Curling Federation (WCF):
- The WCF is the governing body of the Olympic Winter Sport of Curling
- The WCF has 45 national member associations
- Curling has been part of the modern Winter Olympic programme since the
1998 Games in Nagano, Japan
- Wheelchair curling became part of the Paralympic Winter Games programme
in 2006 in Turin, Italy

Want to know anything else about the sport of curling? visit:

Upcoming Championships:
5-12 December - Le Gruyère European Curling Championships 2009, Aberdeen,

For further information:

Joanna Kelly
Media Relations Officer
World Curling Federation
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Warren Hansen
Director, Event Management & Media
Canadian Curling Association
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Derek Boe
Host Committee Chair
2011 Ford World Men’s Curling Championship
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
< Prev   Next >

© 2008 USA CURLING |